## PRESENTERS FOR SYMPOSIUM 7: From pipette to patient to policy – training pharmacologists for the future

## Dr Renae Ryan, Associate Professor, The University of Sydney



Dr. Ryan was awarded a PhD from The University of Sydney in 2004. After a postdoc at Columbia University, USA she received a CJ Martin Postdoctoral Fellowship to work at the National Institutes of Health, USA and The University of Sydney. In 2009, Dr. Ryan was awarded a Career Development Fellowship and was appointed as Associate Professor in the Discipline of Pharmacology, Sydney Medical School. Dr. Ryan's research focuses on the structure and function of neurotransmitter transporters. She teaches in undergraduate Science courses, the Graduate Medical Program and is also a Postgraduate Coordinator in the School of Medical Sciences.

## Dr Paul White, Associate Dean Education, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University



Dr White is co-leader of a cardioprotection research group at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. His education interests include peerassisted active learning, concept mapping within physiology and pharmacology, and the use of flipped classrooms to increase deep learning. Dr White received the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Teaching Excellence Award in 2006, the Cyril Tonkin Fellowship in 2012. He has given multiple invited presentations at national education meetings, and presented at the IUPHAR meeting in Copenhagen in 2010.

A.Prof Matt Doogue, Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Otago-Christchurch & Canterbury District Health Board



Matt Doogue is a physician passionate about applying Clinical Pharmacology principles to patient care. His interests include pharmacokinetic drug-drug interactions, therapeutic drug monitoring, quality use of medicines, and application of clinical pharmacology principles to endocrine research and practice. He is Chair of the Specialty Training Committee for Clinical Pharmacology of ASCEPT and the RACP. He received the ASCEPT teaching excellence award in 2012.